Subscribe to BCAtalk   Network with BCA on LinkedIn   Follow BCA on Twitter   Connect with BCA on Facebook   BCA YouTube Channel

2010 Award Recipients

The following awards were presented at BIOCOMM 2010 in Boston, MA.

Louis Schmidt Award

Michael Peres, FBPA introduces the highest honor in the BCA, the 2010 Louis Schmidt Award, presented to Andrew Davidhazy. Both Michael and Andrew are professors at Rochester Institute of Technology.


Andrew Davidhazy receives the Schmidt key with a diamond inset, a symbol of the Louis Schmidt Award from Michael Peres, FBPA.


Andrew Davidhazy (right) is presented the Louis Schmidt Golden Cane by Steven J. Harrison, PhD, CMI, FBPA, (left), the 2009 Schmidt Laureate.


Andrew Davidhazy (left) with his honorary award and traditional symbols of high achievement and honor, the Louis Schmidt Golden Cane and Key, pose for a photograph with President Richard Frederickson, FBCA.


Schmidt Laureates pose before the 2010 Honors Banquet. Pictured front row from left to right are: Professor Michael Peres, FBCA, Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) Professor Andrew Davidhazy, RIT, Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPA and back row left to right, Bob Turner, RBP, FBPA, Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBCA and Steven J. Harrison, PhD, CMI, FBCA.


Ralph Creer Service Award

James M. Fosse, RBP, FBCA, (right) 2010 Ralph Creer Service Award honoree with Richard Frederickson (left) presenting. Jim's enthusiasm, knowledge, dedication, and guidance as President, Past President, Member of the Board of Registry, and Trust Committee, Director of Conferences, Scientific Program and Honors Chair, is well deserving of this distinguished honor and service award.


Fellowship in BCA

James Koepfler, FBCA (middle) was honored with the distinction of Fellowship in the BCA. Jim is the primary person to produce podcasts and host webinars for the BCA. He is Chair of the COPE committee and serves on the Board of Governors. His photography has won him several awards in BioImages. James Fosse, RBP, FBCA (left) and Richard Fredrickson (right) presented the award.


Emeritus Membership

Peter Medcalf, RBP, FBPA (left) is honored with Emeritus Membership following years of professional achievements and meritorious contributions in the field of visual communications in medicine and the life sciences. He is an accomplished photographer of fine art as well with many public exhibits and awards to his credit. Honors Chair, James Fosse, RBP, FBCA (middle) and President Richard Fredrickson (right) presented the award.


President's Award

Charlene Baron, FBCA, receives the President's Award from Richard Fredrickson for her efforts as BCA's local representative and Program Chair for the 2010 joint meeting with ABCD and HeSCA - Revolutionary Ideas in BioCommunications.


Adam Cooper, RBP, FBCA, (left) receives the President's Award from Richard Fredrickson in appreciation for his service to the association as Vice President during the 2009–10 year and for Adam's efforts with the market research strategic planning initiative.


James Koepfler, FBCA, (left) in appreciation for his ongoing efforts to advance the association's educational mission through the production of Webinars and the development of audio content for online distribution, is presented with the President's Award.


Crystal Award

On behalf of Frederick Dubs, RBP, Norm Barker, RBP, FBPA (left) accepts the 2010 BioImages Best of Show Crystal Award and Coolpix camera from Nikon. Frederick's photograph is titled Ascaris Lumbricoides and can be viewed in the website's BioImages Gallery. Presenting the award are Laurie Lizotte, BioImages Chair, (middle) Bill Fortney, Nikon Professional Services (middle) and BCA President Richard Frederickson, FBCA (right).

Return to BIOCOMM 2010 Meeting Highlights Return to top

Past Recipients

Schmidt Laureates

Ralph Creer Service Award

Fellowship in BCA

Emeritus Membership

Nomination Forms

Please go to the Downloads page to download nomination forms which are enabled for electronic completion.

Past Annual Meetings

View a complete list of past Annual Meetings since 1931.