Subscribe to BCAtalk   Network with BCA on LinkedIn   Follow BCA on Twitter   Connect with BCA on Facebook   BCA YouTube Channel

2011 Award Recipients

The following awards were presented at "Brilliance in BioCommunications", BIOCOMM 2011, in Phoenix, AZ.

Louis Schmidt Award

Gale Spring, FBPA receives the Schmidt key with a diamond inset, a symbol of the Louis Schmidt Award from Norm Barker, RBP, FBPA. The Louis Schmidt Award is the highest honor in the BCA.


Norm Barker, RBP, FBPA, the 2008 Schmidt Laureate (left), and BCA President Richard Frederickson, FBCA (right) present the 2011 Louis Schmidt Award to Gale Spring, FBPA (center).


Gale Spring, FBPA (right) is presented the Louis Schmidt Golden Cane by Steven J. Harrison, PhD, CMI, FBPA, (left), the 2009 Schmidt Laureate.


2011 Schmidt Laureate Gale Spring, FBPA is congratulated by past Schmidt Laureates.


Schmidt Laureates pose before the 2011 Honors Banquet. Pictured front row from left to right are: Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPA , 2011 Schmidt Laureate Gale Spring, FBPA and Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBCA; back row left to right, Bob Turner, RBP, FBPA, Steven J. Harrison, PhD, CMI, FBCA, Richard M. Williams, FBPA, and Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA.


Emeritus Membership

Joe Ogrodnick, FBPA was honored with Emeritus Membership at the Honors Banquet in Phoenix. BCA Honors Chair, Jim Fosse, RBP, FBCA is pictured presenting Joe's merits for the honor, to the audience. Joe was unable to attend the meeting in Phoenix.


Bob Turner, RBP, FBPA (second left) is honored with Emeritus Membership. Congratulating Bob are Thomas Merrill, FBPA, (left), Eugene McDermott, RBP, FBPA (second right) and BCA President Richard Frederickson, FBCA (right).


President's Award

BCA President Richard Frederickson, FBCA presents the President's Award to Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA (left), "In appreciation for advancing the association's New Media initiatives in support of our vision to be the foremost source of education and expertise for all creators and users of visual communication media in the life sciences and medicine."


Karen M. Hensley (left) was presented a President's Award by Richard Frederickson, FBCA "In appreciation for her diligence in member communications through the improvement and regular publication of the BCA news."


Not present – no photo
Lindsay Malek was also honored with a President's Award in appreciation for her "efforts to establish BCA's membership in UPDIG and her leadership transitioning the BioImages visual media competition to an electronic format." Lindsay was unable to attend the meeting in Phoenix.


Crystal Award

Bob Turner, RBP, FBPA (left) is presented with the Crystal Award for Best of Show in BioImages 2011 for his entry "Snowy Egret Landing". Presenting the award is BioImages Co-Chair Karen Hensley (center) and BCA President Richard Frederickson, FBCA. Bob also received a Coolpix S9100 camera from Nikon for his winning entry.

Return to BIOCOMM 2011 Meeting Highlights Return to top

Past Recipients

Schmidt Laureates

Ralph Creer Service Award

Fellowship in BCA

Emeritus Membership

Nomination Forms

Please go to the Downloads page to download nomination forms which are enabled for electronic completion.

Past Annual Meetings

View a complete list of past Annual Meetings since 1931.