The Louis Schmidt Award

1948 - Leo C. Massopust, FBPA

1949 - Anne Shiras, FBPA

1950 - Stella Zimmer, FBPA

1951 – Ralph P. Creer, FBPA

1952 - Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA

1953 - Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA

1954 – Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA

1955 – C. Graham Eddy, FBPA

1956 - Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA

1957 - Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA

1958 – Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA

1959 - Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA

1960 - H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA

1961 - Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPA

1962 - Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA

1963 – Marie E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA

1964 - Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA

1965 - Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA

1966 - John V. Butterfield, FBPA

1967 - not awarded

1968 – Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA

1969 - Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA

1970 - Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA

1971 – Stephen P. Dittman, RBP, FBPA

1972 – Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA

1973 – Stanley Klosevych, RBP, FBPA

1974 - Roger P. Loveland, FBPA

1975 – E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA

1976 – Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA

1977 - Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA

1978 - John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA

1979 – Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA

1980 - Fritz Goro, RBP, FBPA

1981 – I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA

1982 - Leslie Bowcock, MD, AIMBI

1983 – H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA

1984 - Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA

1985 – Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA

1986 - Nile Root, RBP, FBPA

1987 – Martin L. Scott, FBPA

1988 - Ralph J. Marshall, PhD

1989 – Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA

1990 - Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA

1991 - Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA

1992 - Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA

1993 – A. Robin Williams, FBPA

1994 – Will E. Renner, RBP, FBPA

1995 - Dan Patton, RBP, FBPA

1996 - Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA

1997 - Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA

1998 – Heather Angel, FRPS, FBIPP

1999 - Richard M. Williams, FBPA

2000 - Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPA

2001 - William J. Stenstrom, FBPA

2002 - W. David Tredinnick, FBPA

2003 – Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPA

2004 - Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPA

2005 - Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA

The 2005 Louis Schmidt Laureate



Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA

The Louis Schmidt Award

his Award – the highest given in the BCA – is named for our second President. It is awarded annually for "outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications." The selection of the recipient each year is made by a committee composed of the nine most recent winners. This selection is subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.

Mr. Schmidt was in charge of photography at the Rockefeller Institute in New York City and was a founding member of the BPA in 1931. He had an abiding interest in sharing his photographic knowledge with his students and in promoting the highest technical standards in our association.

In 1943, on the occasion of his death, the BPA Journal commented, "In many ways, the BPA is a monument to Louis Schmidt."

To give special distinction to the Award, those who receive it are known as "Louis Schmidt Laureates."

The BioCommunications Association, Inc. is grateful to Mrs. Mary Lappan Vetter, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, for the generous gift of a 100 -year-old, gold-headed cane. It was received August 4, 1990, in Phoenix, Arizona. The cane is part of the BCA Louis Schmidt Award and was presented the first time to Robert F. Sisson on August 3, 1991, in Tampa, Florida.

The gold head is composed of heavy inlaid gold on a copper base. The principal value of the cane is due to the goldsmith's ability to create and fashion a design of elegant beauty. The cane's original owner was Dr. Goebel who received it in a presentation of unknown designation in 1902. It came into Mrs. Mary Lappan Vetter's possession upon the death of her uncle, Father Thomas T. Lappan.

Many universities, colleges and hospitals in Great Britain and America have adopted the practice of awarding a gold-headed cane as the highest honor that can be bestowed on one of their staff members. The BioCommunications Association, through the generous gift of Mary Vetter, is pleased to present this special cane as its highest honor.

The 2005 Louis Schmidt Laureate

Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA

Sam Giannavola's career in biocommunications began in 1976, when he entered the Rochester Institute of Technology's Biomedical Photographic Communications program, having already completed an Associate degree at Monroe Community College. During college, he also completed an internship in veterinary biophotography at the lowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Upon graduation with honors with a B.S. in Biomedical Communications from RIT, Sam signed on as Photolab Supervisor at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) in Little Rock, where he became active in BCA, then BPA. He also began work at once to become a Registered Biological Photographer, and accomplished that goal by August 1980. He later moved to the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and over the next several years served in various job titles including interim and acting director of the Biomedical Communications Center. He returned to UAMS in 1988 and has been there ever since, in positions of top leadership in an active, full-service department whose services range from printing to Web design and television production.

Sam Giannavola's "second career" – that of educator – began less than a year after he completed college, with an oral presentation to the BPA Midsouth Chapter in New Orleans, and his first article in the Journal of Biological Photography, both in 1980. Since then, he's given more than 60 oral presentations at local, regional and international professional meetings. At both UAMS and Illinois, he has conducted ongoing courses ranging from Basic Medical Photography for veterinary medical students to Computer Graphics literacy courses to university students, staff, and faculty. He's served on the faculty of more than a dozen workshops, and has also published in several trade magazines. His most prolific contributions have been to our association's journal; he has published more than 20 articles since 1980.

Sam was granted the honor of Fellow of the Biological Photographic Association in 1991, and has also earned the credentials of Arkansas Governmental Manager and Certified Public Manager. Sam and his wife Laura reside in Little Rock, Arkansas with their two children, Alex and Rosie.