## The Louis Schmidt Award

1948 - Leo C. Massopust, FBPA

1949 – Anne Shiras, FBPA

1950 - Stella Zimmer, FBPA

1951 - Ralph P. Creer, FBPA

1952 - Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA

1953 – Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA

1954 – Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA

1955 - C. Graham Eddy, FBPA

1956 - Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA

1957 - Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA

1958 - Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA

1959 - Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA

1960 - H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA

1961 – Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPA

1962 - Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA

1963 - Marie E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA

1964 – Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA

1965 – Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA

1966 - John V. Butterfield, FBPA

1967 - not awarded

1968 – Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA

1969 - Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA

1970 – Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA

1971 – Stephen P. Dittman, RBP, FBPA

1972 – Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA

1973 - Stanley Klosevych, RBP, FBPA

1974 - Roger P. Loveland, FBPA

1975 - E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA

1976 - Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA

1977 - Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA

1978 - John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA

1979 - Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA

1980 - Fritz Goro, RBP, FBPA

1981 – I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA

1982 - Leslie Bowcock, MD, AIMBI

1983 - H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA

1984 – Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA

1985 - Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA

1986 – Nile Root, RBP, FBPA

1987 - Martin L. Scott, FBPA

1988 - Ralph J. Marshall, PhD

1989 - Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA

1990 - Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA

1991 – Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA

1992 - Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA

1993 – A. Robin Williams, FBPA

1994 – Will E. Renner, RBP, FBPA

1995 - Dan Patton, RBP, FBPA

1996 - Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA

1997 - Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA

1998 - Heather Angel, FRPS, FBIPP

1999 - Richard M. Willliams, FBPA

2000 - Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPA

2001 – William J. Stenstrom, FBPA

2002 - W. David Tredinnick, FBPA

2003 – Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPA

2004 - Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPA

2005 - Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA

2006 - Gigi Williams, FBPA

2007 - Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPA

# The 2007 Louis Schmidt Laureate



Michael R. Peres, RBP,

### The Louis Schmidt Award

his Award – the highest given in the BCA – is named for our second President. It is awarded annually for "outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications." The selection of the recipient each year is made by a committee composed of the nine most recent winners. This selection is subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.

Mr. Schmidt was in charge of photography at the Rockefeller Institute in New York City and was a founding member of the BPA in 1931. He had an abiding interest in sharing his photographic knowledge with his students and in promoting the highest technical standards in our association.

In 1943, on the occasion of his death, the BPA Journal commented, "In many ways, the BPA is a monument to Louis Schmidt."

To give special distinction to the Award, those who receive it are known as "Louis Schmidt Laureates."

The BioCommunications Association, Inc. is grateful to Mrs. Mary Lappan Vetter, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, for the generous gift of a 100 -year-old, gold-headed cane. It was received August 4, 1990, in Phoenix, Arizona. The cane is part of the BCA Louis Schmidt Award and was presented the first time to Robert F. Sisson on August 3, 1991, in Tampa, Florida.

The gold head is composed of heavy inlaid gold on a copper base. The principal value of the cane is due to the goldsmith's ability to create and fashion a design of elegant beauty. The cane's original owner was Dr. Goebel who received it in a presentation of unknown designation in 1902. It came into Mrs. Mary Lappan Vetter's possession upon the death of her uncle, Father Thomas T. Lappan.

Many universities, colleges and hospitals in Great Britain and America have adopted the practice of awarding a gold-headed cane as the highest honor that can be bestowed on one of their staff members. The BioCommunications Association, through the generous gift of Mary Vetter, is pleased to present this special cane as its highest honor.

#### The 2006 Louis Schmidt Laureate

#### Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPA

Michael R. Peres has had a distinguished career as an educator, photographer, writer, editor, and imaging consultant for more than 25 years. He has served as Program Chair and Professor in the Biomedical Photographic Communications program in the School of Photographic Arts & Sciences of Rochester Institute of Technology since 1989. He began his association with the department in 1986. In 2003, Peres was awarded the RIT Eisenhart Award, given for outstanding teaching at the university for his innovation and activities in the classroom. Peres also serves as one of the coordinators of the RIT Big Shot and the Images from Science exhibition.

During the past 20 years at RIT, one of the world's most-acclaimed centers for advanced study in the imaging arts and sciences, Peres has educated and influenced an entire generation of students. Dedicated to their creative and professional development, Peres has played a major role in preparing them for successful careers as leaders in their field of photographic endeavor. Before he began his teaching career, he worked as the supervisor of photography at Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, Michigan, as well as the Chief Medical Photographer, West Virginia University Medical Center, Charleston, West Virginia.

An exhibiting photographer, his work has been featured in numerous exhibitions, including several solo exhibitions. He is currently serving as Chair of the Nominating Committee for the Lennart Nilsson Award (Stockholm, Sweden), a position he was invited to assume in 1998. Peres has been actively publishing for most of his career and most recently served as Editor-in -Chief for the completely revised 888-page Focal Encyclopedia of Photography, Fourth Edition published in April 2007 by Focal Press in Boston.

Michael Peres earned a B.A. in Biology from Bradley University, Peoria, Illinois and he continued his education at Rochester Institute of Technology, earning a B.S. degree in Biomedical Photographic Communications in 1982, as well as an M.S. in Instructional Technology in 1991.

He has been an Imaging Consultant to numerous companies, including Eastman Kodak, Inc., Bausch and Lomb, Inc., Sony, Inc., Carl Zeiss, Central Intelligence Agency, Wm. Brown Publishers, Butterworth/Focal Press, Xerox Corporation and New York Botanical Gardens.

Peres has been an active member of the BioCommunications Association since 1978 and was awarded a Fellowship in 1995. He was a member of the Board of Governors and was also Director, Committee for Professional Education from 1995-1998. As Workshop Coordinator, he organized the workshops for BIOCOMM 96, 97, 98, 03 & 04. He has served the organization in numerous other capacities on both the international and chapter level. He resides in Rochester, New York with his wife, Laurie, and children, Jonathan and Leah.