The 2016 Louis Schmidt Laureate



Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCA

The Louis Schmidt Award

his Award – the highest given in the BCA – is named for our second President. It is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications. The selection of the recipient each year is made by a committee composed of the nine most recent winners. This selection is subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.

Mr. Schmidt was in charge of photography at the Rockefeller Institute in New York City and was a founding member of the BPA (Biological Photographic Association, later to be renamed the BioCommunications Association) in 1931. He had an abiding interest in sharing his photographic knowledge with his students and in promoting the highest technical standards in our association.

In 1943, on the occasion of his death, the BPA Journal commented, In many ways, the BPA is a monument to Louis Schmidt.

To give special distinction to the Award, those who receive it are known as Louis Schmidt Laureates.

The Louis Schmidt Award had its beginnings in photography in biology and medicine. With progress of communication technologies it has grown to recognize the expanded and expanding fields of communication.

This Award is an honor bestowed for outstanding contributions made during an extended career and over a period of time that still may be ongoing. The Louis Schmidt Award is presented for evidence of the four core criteria listed below:

- Recognition of outstanding contributions to the progress of communications within the life sciences
- Promotion of understanding and cooperation within the field of biocommunication
- Maintenance of ethical approach to professional relationships
- Willingness to freely share technical information

Symbols of the Louis Schmidt Award include an engraved BCA key with a diamond inset personalized with the Laureate's name. A framed certificate is also presented to the newly elected Laureate and one year custodianship of the BCA gold-headed cane, a traditional symbol in medicine of high achievement and honor.

Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCA 2016 Louis Schmidt Laureate

The Louis Schmidt Committee of the BioCommunications Association is pleased to announce that Charles A. Hedgcock, or Chip as he is known to many, is the 2016 Louis Schmidt Laureate.

Charles "Chip" A. Hedgcock is a Registered Biological Photographer and Fellow of the BioCommunications Association. His work is of the highest quality as shown by his participation in over one hundred solo and group exhibitions in galleries across North America and on an international level at places such as the Royal Photographic Society in Bath, England. He is widely published in the popular press linking science and the general public. He has created a special visual bridge that allows his work to speak to both science and art. Recently his work demonstrating the chemical defense of the Bombardier beetle was used by the New York Times. The departments he supported for his years at the University of Arizona had many cover illustrations using his work in top scientific journals. His revealing images of what he refers to as the charismatic microfauna led one critic to say "Chip is to bugs what Weston was to peppers."

He has advanced scientific knowledge through his work at the University of Arizona and the Sky Island Alliance. His participation in expeditions to parts of the United States Southwest and the Madrean Archipelago in Sonora, Mexico has directly led to the discovery and documentation of species of flora and fauna that had previously been unknown. He is a masterful problem solver as noted in his ability to document animal behavior.

Chip willingly shares his knowledge on various levels. He publishes in a wide range of media from scientific peer review to the popular press, works as diverse as our own *Journal of Biocommunication* to the *New York Times*. He edited the information on scorpions in the recent edition of "A *Natural History of the Sonoran Desert*" 2015, *University of California Press*. He lectures and conducts workshops on his techniques from a university academic level to his recent workshops at the North American Nature Photography Summit in San Diego, California. He is a frequent author and presenter of papers at the BIOCOMM meetings and often a leader at workshops.

Chip is a person of principle and integrity. His years of service to the BioCommunications Association on committees and the Board demonstrate his selfless service to the field. He also serves on boards and is active in photography and conservation organizations. All of his colleagues speak of his dedication and his generosity of spirit. A quote from a sponsor well sums up his reputation with "Chip is conscientious, highly professional, admirably ethical and deeply dedicated to using his art in service to science, natural history, and conservation."

Schmidt Laureates

1948 – Leo C. Massopust, FBPA	1983 – H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA
1949 – Anne Shiras, FBPA	1984 – Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA
1950 – Stella Zimmer, FBPA	1985 – Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA
1951 – Ralph P. Creer, FBPA	1986 – Nile Root, RBP, FBPA
1952 – Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA	1987 – Martin L. Scott, FBPA
1953 – Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA	1988 – Ralph J. Marshall, PhD
1954 – Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA	1989 – Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA
1955 – C. Graham Eddy, FBPA	1990 – Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA
1956 – Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA	1991 – Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA
1957 – Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA	1992 – Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA
1958 – Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA	1993 – A. Robin Williams, FBPA
1959 – Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA	1994 – Will E. Renner, RBP, FBPA
1960 – H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA	1995 – Dan Patton, RBP, FBPA
1961 – Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPA	1996 – Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA
1962 – Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA	1997 – Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA
1963 – Maria E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA	1998 – Heather Angel, FRPS, FBIPP
1964 – Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA	1999 – Richard M. Willliams, FBPA
1965 – Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA	2000 – Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPA
1966 – John V. Butterfield, FBPA	2001 – William J. Stenstrom, FBPA
1967 – not awarded	2002 – W. David Tredinnick, FBPA
1968 – Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA	2003 – Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPA
1969 – Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA	2004 – Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPA
1970 – Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA	2005 – Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA
1971 – Stephen P. Dittman, RBP, FBPA	2006 – Gigi Williams, FBPA
1972 – Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA	2007 – Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPA
1973 – Stanley Klosevych, RBP, FBPA	2008 – Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPA
1974 – Roger P. Loveland, FBPA	2009 – Steven J. Harrison, FBPA
1975 – E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA	2010 – Andrew Davidhazy
1976 – Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA	2011 – Gale E. Spring, FBPA
1977 – Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA	2012 – James E. Hayden, RBP, FBCA
1978 – John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA	2013 – John B. Hendrix, RBP, FBCA
1979 – Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA	2014 – Paul Crompton, FBCA
1980 – Fritz Goro, RBP, FBPA	2015 – James M. Fosse, RBP, FBCA
1981 – I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA	2016 – Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCA

1982 - Leslie Bowcock, MD, AIMBI