

Kathy McFall

The Louis Schmidt Award

This Award – the highest given in the BCA – is named for our second President. It is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications. The selection of the recipient each year is made by a committee composed of the nine most recent winners. This selection is subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.

Mr. Schmidt was in charge of photography at the Rockefeller Institute in New York City and was a founding member of the BPA (Biological Photographic Association, later to be renamed the BioCommunications Association) in 1931. He had an abiding interest in sharing his photographic knowledge with his students and in promoting the highest technical standards in our association.

In 1943, on the occasion of his death, the BPA Journal commented, in many ways, the BPA is a monument to Louis Schmidt.

To give special distinction to the Award, those who receive it are known as Louis Schmidt Laureates.

The Louis Schmidt Award had its beginnings in photography in biology and medicine. With progress of communication technologies it has grown to recognize the expanded and expanding fields of communication.

This Award is an honor bestowed for outstanding contributions made during an extended career and over a period of time that still may be ongoing. The Louis Schmidt Award is presented for evidence of the four core criteria listed below:

- Recognition of outstanding contributions to the progress of communications within the life sciences
- Promotion of understanding and cooperation within the field of biocommunication
- Maintenance of ethical approach to professional relationships
- Willingness to freely share technical information

Symbols of the Louis Schmidt Award include an engraved BCA key with a diamond inset personalized with the Laureate's name. A framed certificate is also presented to the newly elected Laureate and one year custodianship of the BCA gold-headed cane, a traditional symbol in medicine of high achievement and honor.

Kathy McFall 2018 Louis Schmidt Laureate

The Louis Schmidt Committee of the BioCommunications Association is pleased to announce that Kathy Jane McFall, MSc, FIMI, RMIP, is the 2018 Louis Schmidt Laureate. Kathy's career in medical photography, video and teaching spans some twenty-five years. Kathy serves as the Head of Medical Illustration Services at the NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital. She lectures on behalf of the Medical Humanities Unit at the University of Glasgow, and has tutored students undertaking the BSc in Medical Illustration at Glasgow Caledonian University. She is the Chairman of the Institute of Medical Illustrators and a Fellow of the Institute of Medical Illustrators.

Kathy's leadership in the field of BioCommunications is evident when you consider that she was recognized with the Norman K. Harrison Gold Medal Award in 2007. This is the highest recognition that the Institute of Medical Illustrators can bestow on one of its members for their contributions to our field and our profession. This award, in its prestige is very similar to the Louis Schmidt Award she will be receiving this evening.

Kathy has served leadership roles in many professional organizations that are committed to dissemination of information about imaging in the health and natural sciences. In 2004 she was elected to the Board of Directors and then served as President of The Health and Sciences Communications Association (HESCA) for two years from 2007–08.

During her tenure with HESCA, she was instrumental in setting up exchanges, so members from the IMI and HESCA could attend each other's national meetings encouraging an appreciation and cross fertilization that benefited both organizations and their membership.

In June 2009 in ST. Louis, MO – Kathy was awarded HeSCA's Distinguished Service Award for her outstanding level of service and positive energy during her many years on the HeSCA Board. She was also recognized for her work as President over the past year, and her role in the transition to the Journal of Visual Communication in Medicine.

In yet another of her many leadership roles, Kathy took on the job of Editor for the prestigious Journal of Visual Communication in Medicine, (formerly, Journal of Audio Visual Media in Medicine). As Journal Editor for eight years, she was directly responsible for steering many articles to the printed page. She left her scholarly imprint on that journal. Working with scores of authors; photographers, graphic artist, medical illustrators and publishers, to disseminate information to all participants in the Biomedical imaging field. Although she is no longer editor, she continues to serve on the international board of the Journal.

She has been extremely active in the Institute of Medical Illustrators and served many roles in that organization over the years as well. Kathy served as Chair for the annual IMI conferences in 2012 and 2016.

Schmidt Laureates

1948 - Leo C. Massopust, FBPA 1949 - Anne Shiras, FBPA 1950 - Stella Zimmer, FBPA 1951 - Ralph P. Creer, FBPA 1952 - Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA 1953 - Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA 1954 - Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA 1955 - C. Graham Eddy, FBPA 1956 - Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA 1957 - Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA 1958 - Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA 1959 - Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA 1960 - H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA 1961 - Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPA 1962 - Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA 1963 - Maria E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA 1964 - Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA 1965 - Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA 1966 - John V. Butterfield, FBPA 1967 – not awarded 1968 - Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA 1969 - Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA 1970 - Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA 1971 - Stephen P. Dittman, RBP, FBPA 1972 - Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA 1973 - Stanley Klosevych, RBP, FBPA 1974 - Roger P. Loveland, FBPA 1975 – E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA 1976 - Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA 1977 - Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA 1978 - John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA 1979 - Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA 1980 - Fritz Goro, RBP, FBPA 1981 – I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA 1982 - Leslie Bowcock, MD, AIMBI 1983 - H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA

1984 - Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA 1985 - Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA 1986 - Nile Root, RBP, FBPA 1987 - Martin L. Scott, FBPA 1988 - Ralph J. Marshall, PhD 1989 - Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA 1990 - Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA 1991 - Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA 1992 - Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA 1993 - A. Robin Williams, FBPA 1994 - Will E. Renner, RBP, FBPA 1995 - Dan Patton, RBP, FBPA 1996 - Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA 1997 - Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA 1998 - Heather Angel, FRPS, FBIPP 1999 - Richard M. Willliams, FBPA 2000 - Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPA 2001 - William J. Stenstrom, FBPA 2002 - W. David Tredinnick, FBPA 2003 - Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPA 2004 - Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPA 2005 - Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA 2006 - Gigi Williams, FBPA 2007 - Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPA 2008 - Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPA 2009 - Steven I. Harrison, FBPA 2010 - Andrew Davidhazy 2011 - Gale E. Spring, FBPA 2012 - James E. Hayden, RBP, FBCA 2013 - John B. Hendrix, RBP, FBCA 2014 - Paul Crompton, FBCA 2015 - James M. Fosse, RBP, FBCA 2016 - Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCA 2017 - Richard A. McNeely

2018 - Kathy Jane McFall, FIMI