The 2019 Louis Schmidt Laureate



Ted Kinsman

The Louis Schmidt Award

his Award – the highest given in the BCA – is named for our second President. It is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications. The selection of the recipient each year is made by a committee composed of the nine most recent winners. This selection is subject to the approval of the Executive Board.

Mr. Schmidt was in charge of photography at the Rockefeller Institute in New York City and was a founding member of the BPA (Biological Photographic Association, later to be renamed the BioCommunications Association) in 1931. He had an abiding interest in sharing his photographic knowledge with his students and in promoting the highest technical standards in our association.

In 1943, on the occasion of his death, the BPA Journal commented, in many ways, the BPA is a monument to Louis Schmidt.

To give special distinction to the Award, those who receive it are known as Louis Schmidt Laureates.

The Louis Schmidt Award had its beginnings in photography in biology and medicine. With progress of communication technologies it has grown to recognize the expanded and expanding fields of communication.

This Award is an honor bestowed for outstanding contributions made during an extended career and over a period of time that still may be ongoing. The Louis Schmidt Award is presented for evidence of the four core criteria listed below:

- Recognition of outstanding contributions to the progress of communications within the life sciences
- Promotion of understanding and cooperation within the field of biocommunication
- Maintenance of ethical approach to professional relationships
- Willingness to freely share technical information

Symbols of the Louis Schmidt Award include an engraved BCA key with a diamond inset personalized with the Laureate's name. A framed certificate is also presented to the newly elected Laureate and one year custodianship of the BCA gold-headed cane, a traditional symbol in medicine of high achievement and honor.

Ted Kinsman 2019 Louis Schmidt Laureate

The Louis Schmidt Committee of the BioCommunications Association is pleased to announce that Associate Professor Ted Kinsman is the 2019 Louis Schmidt Laureate. Ted Kinsman has a BS in Physics and a MS in Science Education. He worked as an optical engineer, a physicist, and a high school physics instructor before joining the teaching faculty at Rochester Institute of Technology. Ted was hired at RIT in 2013 in the Photographic Sciences department and teaches classes in high speed photography, photo instrumentation, and scanning electron microscopy as well as other technology and imaging related subjects. As a scientist, Kinsman's work focuses on using images to teach science related subjects and how to solve problems.

Kinsman's photographic work explores the boundaries of what is possible using technology to make photographs. His work has been featured in countless books, magazines and in many online publications. His work has appeared on The Discovery Channel, Crime Scene Investigations (CSI), The X-Files, South Park, The Tyra Banks Show, ABC, NBC, PBS, CBS and the British Broadcasting Corporation. Recently, he contributed work to The Frozen Planet series and James Cameron's Avatar movie. He is also a frequent author of "how to" articles and contributed a chapter for *Laboratory Imaging and Photography: Best Practices for Photomicrography and More Focal Press*, 2016.

The recipient of numerous awards, Kinsman won the 2015 National Science Foundation's Imaging Science Contest with an x-ray image of a turtle with eggs.

Kinsman's recent book *Cannabis: Marijuana Under the Microscope /* Schiffer Publishing 2018, shares his fresh and visually stunning photographs exploring the extraordinary beauty and diversity of the world's most controversial plant: Cannabis salvia. Cutting-edge scanning electron microscope images, combined with light micrographs and X-rays, are shared in this beautiful book exploring this plant and the intrigue surrounding it.

Applying physics to photography remains one of his specialties. Initially he started his imaging company to publish science books. Within a few years though, the focus changed to the production of high quality time-lapse films of flowers blooming. This footage was widely distributed and has appeared in thousands of commercials. In 1999 his work moved into the area of educational science photography. In this new initiative, scanning electron microscopy and radiography became the focus of his photography. More than 38 stock companies represent Ted's work both nationally and internationally. Numerous books and magazines including *Scientific American*, *Science News*, *New York Times*, and *National Geographic* routinely use his images.

Schmidt Laureates

1948 – Leo C. Massopust, FBPA	1984 – Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA
1949 – Anne Shiras, FBPA	1985 – Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA
1950 – Stella Zimmer, FBPA	1986 – Nile Root, RBP, FBPA
1951 – Ralph P. Creer, FBPA	1987 – Martin L. Scott, FBPA
1952 – Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA	1988 – Ralph J. Marshall, PhD
1953 – Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA	1989 – Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA
1954 – Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA	1990 – Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA
1955 – C. Graham Eddy, FBPA	1991 – Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA
1956 – Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA	1992 – Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA
1957 – Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA	1993 – A. Robin Williams, FBPA
1958 – Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA	1994 – Will E. Renner, RBP, FBPA
1959 – Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA	1995 – Dan Patton, RBP, FBPA
1960 – H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA	1996 – Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA
1961 – Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPA	1997 – Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA
1962 – Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA	1998 – Heather Angel, FRPS, FBIPP
1963 – Maria E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA	1999 – Richard M. Willliams, FBPA
1964 – Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA	2000 – Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPA
1965 – Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA	2001 – William J. Stenstrom, FBPA
1966 – John V. Butterfield, FBPA	2002 – W. David Tredinnick, FBPA
1967 – not awarded	2003 – Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPA
1968 – Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA	2004 – Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPA
1969 – Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA	2005 – Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA
1970 – Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA	2006 – Gigi Williams, FBPA
1971 – Stephen P. Dittman, RBP, FBPA	2007 – Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPA
1972 – Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA	2008 – Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPA
1973 – Stanley Klosevych, RBP, FBPA	2009 – Steven J. Harrison, FBPA
1974 – Roger P. Loveland, FBPA	2010 – Andrew Davidhazy
1975 – E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA	2011 – Gale E. Spring, FBPA
1976 – Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA	2012 – James E. Hayden, RBP, FBCA
1977 – Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA	2013 – John B. Hendrix, RBP, FBCA
1978 – John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA	2014 – Paul Crompton, FBCA
1979 – Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA	2015 – James M. Fosse, RBP, FBCA
1980 – Fritz Goro, RBP, FBPA	2016 – Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCA
1981 – I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA	2017 – Richard A. McNeely
1982 – Leslie Bowcock, MD, AIMBI	2018 – Kathy Jane McFall, FIMI

2019 - Ted Kinsman

1983 - H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA