The 2025 Louis Schmidt Laureate



Simon Brown

Simon Brown, MSc FBCA FIMI 2025 Louis Schmidt Laureate

The Louis Schmidt Committee of the BioCommunications Association is pleased to announce that Simon Brown is the 2025 Louis Schmidt Laureate.

Simon's career in clinical photography started in 1977 and, while at the Charing Cross & Westminster Medical School, he gained numerous awards for clinical photography and was awarded Fellowship of the Institute of Medical Illustrators (IMI) in 1985.

In 1986, Simon moved to the world-famous Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, firstly as Deputy Director, then as Director of Medical Illustration. It was during his time at Great Ormond Street that the first generation of digital cameras appeared and Simon and his staff embraced the new technology with enthusiasm. He published seminal papers on the use of digital imaging in clinical photography in what was then the Journal of Audiovisual Media in Medicine.

At University College London (UCL), he was made Director of Media Resources between 1996 and 2006, then he left to pursue a freelance career and moved to the West Midlands to enable his daughter's continued specialist schooling.

During his career, Simon has been Chair of the Royal Photographic Society's Medical Group, Chair of the Institute of Medical Illustrators (IMI) in 1993-94 and is one of only two medical photographers to receive the prestigious Combined Royal Colleges Medal in 2005, the highest award in Medical Photography for "an outstanding contribution to Imaging in the Advancement of Medicine and Surgery". He also received IMI's Norman K Harrison Award in 2002 and their Honorary Fellowship in 2019.

Simon co-authored and produced all the photographs and illustrations for Wolfe's "Colour Atlas of AIDS" in 1986 and has published fifteen peer-reviewed papers and presented numerous times at meetings and conferences in the USA, the UK and Scandinavia. Most recently, he has co-edited and part-authored the new textbook, "Clinical Photography – theory and practice", published in 2024 by Routledge.

Simon has always been passionate about education and training in clinical photography, encouraging students and trainees to achieve the highest standards. Since 2006 he has been the professional co-ordinator for the Graduate and Postgraduate courses at the University of Staffordshire and has seen over 500 students through the courses in the past eighteen years.

The Louis Schmidt Award

This Award – the highest given in the BCA – is named for our second President. It is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications. The selection of the recipient each year is made by a committee composed of the nine most recent winners.

Mr. Schmidt was a founding member of the BPA (Biological Photographic Association) in 1931 (later renamed to the BioCommunications Association). He had an abiding interest in sharing his photographic knowledge with his students and in promoting the highest technical standards in our association.

To give special distinction to the Award, those who receive it are known as Louis Schmidt Laureates.

This Award is an honor bestowed for outstanding contributions made during an extended career and over a period of time that still may be ongoing. The Louis Schmidt Award is presented for evidence of the four core criteria listed below:

- Recognition of outstanding contributions to the progress of communications within the life sciences
- Promotion of understanding and cooperation within the field of biocommunication
- Maintenance of ethical approach to professional relationships
- Willingness to freely share technical information

Symbols of the Louis Schmidt Award include an engraved BCA key with a diamond inset personalized with the Laureate's name. A framed certificate is also presented to the newly elected Laureate and one year custodianship of the BCA gold-headed cane, a traditional symbol in medicine of high achievement and honor.

Schmidt Laureates

1948 – Leo C. Massopust, FBPA 1949 – Anne Shiras, FBPA 1950– Stella Zimmer, FBPA 1951 – Ralph P. Creer, FBPA

Schmidt Laureates

1952 -Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA	1987 – Martin L. Scott, FBPA
1953 – Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA	1988 – Ralph J. Marshall, PhD
1954 – Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA	1989 – Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA
1955 – C. Graham Eddy, FBPA	1990 – Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA
1956 - Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA	1991 – Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA
1957 – Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA	1992 – Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA
1958 – Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA	1993 – A. Robin Williams, FBPA
1959 – Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA	1994 – Will E. Renner, RBP, FBPA
1960 – H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA	1995 – Dan Patton, RBP, FBPA
1961 – Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPA	1996 – Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA
1962 - Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA	1997 – Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA
1963 – Maria E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA	1998 – Heather Angel, FRPS, FBIPP
1964 – Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA	1999 - Richard M. Willliams, FBPA
1965 – Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA	2000 – Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPA
1966 – John V. Butterfield, FBPA	2001 – William J. Stenstrom, FBPA
1968 – Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA	2002 – W. David Tredinnick, FBPA
1969 – Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA	2003 – Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPA
1970 – Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA	2004 – Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPA
1971 – Stephen P. Dittman, RBP, FBPA	2005 – Samuel Giannavola, RBP, FBPA
1972 – Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA	2006 – Gigi Williams, FBPA
1973 – Stanley Klosevych, RBP, FBPA	2007 – Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPA
1974 – Roger P. Loveland, FBPA	2008 – Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPA
1975 – E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA	2009 – Steven J. Harrison, FBPA
1976 – Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA	2010 – Andrew Davidhazy
1977 – Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA	2011 – Gale E. Spring, FBPA
1978 – John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA	2012 – James E. Hayden, RBP, FBCA
1979 – Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA	2013 – John B. Hendrix, RBP, FBCA
1980 – Fritz Goro, RBP, FBPA	2014 - Paul Crompton, FBCA
1981 – I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA	2015 – James M. Fosse, RBP, FBCA
1982 – Leslie Bowcock, MD, AIMBI	2016 – Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCA
1983 – H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA	2017 - Richard A. McNeely
1984 – Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA	2018 – Kathy Jane McFall, FIMI
1985 – Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA	2019 – Ted Kinsman
1986 – Nile Root, RBP, FBPA	2020- Danielle Edwards, FBPA