Subscribe to BCAtalk   Network with BCA on LinkedIn   Follow BCA on Twitter   Connect with BCA on Facebook   BCA YouTube Channel

Schmidt Laureates

2017 Richard A. McNeelyDownload program
2016 Charles A. Hedgcock, RBP, FBCADownload program
2015 James M. Fosse, RBP, FBCADownload program
2014 Paul Crompton, FBCADownload program
2013 John Hendrix, RBP, FBCADownload program
2012 James Hayden, RBP, FBCA Download program
2011 Gale Spring, FBPADownload program
2010 Andrew DavidhazyDownload program
2009 Steven J. Harrison, PhD, CMI, FBPADownload program
2008 Norman J. Barker, RBP, FBPADownload program
2007 Michael R. Peres, RBP, FBPADownload program
2006 Gigi Williams, FBPADownload program
2005 Sam Giannavola, RBP, FBPADownload program
2004 Robert C. Turner, RBP, FBPADownload program
2003 Joseph Ogrodnick, FBPADownload program
2002 W. David Tredinnick, FBPA, FRPS, Hon. FIMI
2001 William Stenstrom, FBPADownload program
2000 Herbert R. Smith, Jr., FBPADownload program
1999 Richard M. Williams, FBPA
1998 Heather Angel, DSC, FRPS, FBIPP
1997 Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA
1996 Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA
1995 Dan R. Patton, RBP, FBPA
1994 Wilmer Renner, RBP, FBPA
1993 A. Robin Williams, PhD, DGPPh, FISTC, FRMS, FRPS, FIMI, FBIPP, FBPA
1992 Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA
1991 Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA
1990 Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA
1989 Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA
1988 Ralph Marshall, PhD, FRPS, FBIPP
1987 Martin L. Scott, FBPA
1986 Nile Root, RBP, FBPA
1985 Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA, FIMBI
1984 Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA
1983 H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA
1982 Leslie Bowcock, MB, ChB, AIMBI
1981 I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA
1980 Fritz W. Goro, FBPA
1979 Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA
1978 John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA
1977 Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA
1976 Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA
1975 E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA
1974 Roger P. Loveland, FBPA
1973 Stanley Klosevych, RBP, DpIRMS, FBPA
1972 Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA
1971 Stephen P. Dittmann, RBP, FBPA
1970 Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA
1969 Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA
1968 Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA
1967 not awarded
1966 John V. Butterfield, FBPA
1965 Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA
1964 Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA
1963 Maria E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA
1962 Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA
1961 Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPADownload program
1960 H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA
1959 Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA
1958 Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA
1957 Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA
1956 Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA
1955 C. Graham Eddy, FBPA
1954 Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA
1953 Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA
1952 Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA
1951 Ralph P. Creer, FBPA
1950 Stella Zimmer, FBPA
1949 Anne Shiras, FBPA
1948 Leo C. Massopust, FBPA

Louis Schmidt Award

The highest honor in BCA is to be selected a Louis Schmidt Laureate. Named for a founder and the second president of the Association this honor is bestowed "for outstanding contributions to the progress of biocommunications."

Symbols of the Schmidt Award include the BCA key inset with a diamond and the Gold Headed Cane - a traditional symbol in medicine of high achievement and honor.

Schmidt Key

A committee of the nine most recent Schmidt laureates makes the selection of the recipient subject to approval by the board of governors.

Nominations may be directed to the Chair, Schmidt Award Committee: Chip Hedgcock or Secretary, Ken Michaels.

Current Recipients

View current recipients of honors awards.

Nomination Forms

Please go to the Downloads page to download nomination forms which are enabled for electronic completion.

Related Links